top of page

The Bread Blue Café- Vegan's Guide to Korea

Last week, I started a new segment on my YouTube channel called "Vegan's Guide to Korea".

In Vegan's Guide to Korea, I visit some vegan eateries around Korea and review their food, atmosphere, price, etc. For the first episode, I decided to visit The Bread Blue. Little did I know what hurdles I'd have to jump to get to my yummy vegan pastries!

The Bread Blue is an all-vegan bread and pastry café, about 5-10mins walking distance from Sinchon Station. They offer an assortment of fresh breads, rolls, loaves, cakes, cookies, muffins, Korean style breads (such as the Pizza Bread), and more. Their location is somewhat strange- you have to go down a small alleyway off the main street to get there. However, if you have a reliable GPS (unlike mine), it shouldn't be hard to find!

The problem began when my Google Maps had me get off at Sinchon Station. Why is this a problem, you ask? Well, upon getting off the subway, paying for my ride, and leaving the station, I pulled up Google Maps. You know how Google Maps uses a blue flashing dot to represent your location, and a colored line representing the route to your destination? According to Google Maps, I was right in the middle of my route, and needed to go further on the subway. Confused, I zoomed into the destination. "Sichung Station", it read. Thinking maybe I'd read the station wrong when I'd looked up the location on my laptop at home (after all, Sinchon and Sichung looks and sounds very much alike), I hopped back on the subway, and went all the way to Sichung. Then, Google Maps showed that my destination was behind a city center, in a business complex, next to a dentist. A business complex?! Despite what my gut was telling me, I began walking. I asked people for directions, one of which was a police officer, but nobody could figure out where the bakery was. For an hour, I circled the block and crossed some streets and went back to where I'd started. Finally, I looked up the phone number for The Bread Blue. The store owner informed me that I needed to get off at Sinchon, not Sichung. Exasperated, tired, and sweaty (sorry, TMI), I got back on the subway and went back to Sinchon. From there, it was a much smoother ride. I got off, left through exit 8, and followed the directions that the store owner gave me. After 5 minutes of brisk walking, lo and behold, I was in front of The Bread Blue. *Insert cheering here*

Upon introducing myself as the crazy girl who got off the wrong subway station twice- *Cough* I mean, a YouTuber who wanted to film at the location- I filmed the interior and food, chose a place to sit, and bought some (way too many) pastries. I was so surprised at the exceptional customer service and food. They actually unwrap and bring the bread to you on a plate with utensils, and a mug of water if you don't order any drinks. Although I really wanted to order hot tea with almond milk, I had half an hour to film. If you know me in real life, you know that it takes me forever to drink hot drinks, and all of my attention to make sure I don't burn myself.

I ordered the double chocolate bread, a chocolate muffin, and a castella cake. The friendly store owner gave me a complimentary apricot mini-pie with my order, which was so good!

What I ordered from The Bread Blue, photo via Instagram (@seascxpe). Not pictured: Castella cake.

The double chocolate bread was a soft roll-like bread with chocolate chips embedded into the bread, and chocolate cream in the middle. The cream was so smooth, and the bread had a softer-than-sourdough but tougher-than-sandwich-bread texture. This one was my favorite!

The chocolate muffin was also delicious - it had a nice crunch at the top, which I love, and soft, sweet breading inside.

I received the little apricot pie for free (the owner seemed to love giving little things to everyone). It was amazing- the apricot jam was not too sweet and tasted very fresh, and the pastry was flaky and buttery. It practically melted in your mouth!

I saved the Castella cake for my trip to Busan, and we were not disappointed. My grandma and I had it on the KTX, and it was so good! It has a slight cinnamon flavor to the filling, and a super moist cake base.

The Bread Blue had some of the best vegan pastries I've ever had, very friendly service, and great prices. Breads began at 2,500won and up, which is, to be honest, cheaper than some non-vegan bakeries in Korea.

There were a few groups of people, but also many people alone, who came to study or work on their computers while enjoying a cup of coffee and delicious bread. Such a comforting, quiet atmosphere.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my trip, and I know I'll be there again soon. Maybe you'll see me there, typing away on a blog post on my laptop, or planning out a new video in my notebook.

Quick Review: Location: ★★★★☆ 3.75 Food: ★★★★★ 5 Service: ★★★★★ 5 Price: ★★★★☆ 4 Vegan-Friendly: ★★★★★ 5

The Bread Blue Address: 3 Sinchon-ro 12da-gil, Mapo-gu, Seoul Phone Number: 070-4405-0723 Official Site: http://tinyurl.com/jjm9pvx

Directions: Leave Sinchon Station through exit 8. Walk straight out and turn left into the alley following Hanaro Club. Walk straight down the alley until you see The Bread Blue in a smaller alley to the left, across from another bakery.

bottom of page