top of page

A Sign

I can't focus.

there is so much to do and so much to get done

I have two pages of a to do list taped on my desk filled with words

and no checkmarks

"today is the oldest you've ever been, and the youngest you'll ever be again", reads the paper in the frame on my desk

it seems like a joke now

and I can't stop laughing

so many thoughts rushing thudding around my skull

they're like newbies in a 10k marathon

all trying to get somewhere, but let's face it-

few will survive the exhaustion and some will never finish the race

after running for hours, days, weeks,

they will tire into a stupor of their souls trying to survive in a weary body

pacing back and forth on the same strip of hardwood

over and over

decisions, decisions,

and no answers

it's like the universe is trying to send me a sign

something so vital and important, yet something I cannot decode

the answer

I know it's out there

it's on a tiny piece of paper

the back of yesterday's news

a handwriting barely legible

scrawled in permanent marker

if you happen to find it

gingerly tied to the string of a deflating blue balloon

please let me know

as I'm probably attached to it too.

bottom of page