top of page

I Hate Roller Coasters (?)

Dear Rug,

As you may know from the video diaries I've sent, this past week has been a roller coaster. Between the mishap with the tailor, editor issues, and some exciting projects I've been working on, I've lost all will to take on any more things.

But you know me well enough.

A week from now, you'll likely get 10 more video diaries of me buzzing around all the new things I've decided to do.

Can you say, "taking a bigger bite than you can chew"?

But anyways, that's for another day.

When you texted me and told me "wow, it's been a roller coaster for you", it inspired me to claw my way out of my creative slump and write this blog post.

So here are 10 reasons why I hate roller coasters (kind of).

5 Reasons Why I Hate Roller Coasters (kind of.)

Fig hates (or does she?) all types of roller coasters.

By Fig

1) No personal space.

Elaboration: They throw you up and down and against the side of your cart so the person next to you is way too far into your personal bubble.

The tiny hint of positive to this: Whether they're invading your space or not, they have good intentions. That person getting squished up next to you loves you. They're trying to help you through this crazy ride.

2) They're trying to kill you.

Elaboration: The whole point of roller coasters is so you can practice the feeling of trying to get killed. Adrenalin, fight or flight mode, feeling like flying... Sound familiar?!

The tiny hint of positive to this: It prepares you for the real world- so you can learn to handle emotions and situations on your own. It's all a part of life and the world is helping you practice for it. Kind of like training for the Hunger Games. Except possibly worse than that.

3) The going-uphill part of rides are never long enough.

Elaboration: The uphills are too short compared to the downhills. It's like getting relief and rest ripped away from you.

The tiny hint of positive to this: The downhills make you more thankful for the uphills. The downhills give you a chance to recollect, reminisce, and give you a chance to remember how fortunate you are to have had what you had.

4) They make you sick and tired.

Elaboration: I'm the girl you never want to be next to after the ride. Helloooo, welcome to Barf City. Population 1 (or possibly a reluctant 2 if you get unlucky and wander in at the wrong time). For your own sake, please do not forget to bring an umbrella, and we hope you enjoy your stay here.

The tiny hint of positive to this: Your body is fighting for you! It knows you just went through that traumatic event, so it's trying to obliterate the bad vibes from your body. Go you! Rah rah!

5) They make you do stupid things.

Elaboration: You are so not feeling yourself after the roller coaster. You may do some stupid things (like barfing on your crush. See #4 for more information), in a blind fury. You may get angry and start blaming people ("why did you make me go on this ride?!").

The tiny hint of positive to this: This is a way to find out who your true friends/companions are. Am I saying making your friends sad/mad/blaming stuff on them is a great way to test your friendships? Um, no. But no matter how many times you cry or rant to them about how upset you are, true friends will be there for you (that sounded cheesy, sorry. I know this isn't an episode monologue for the Hannah Montana TV show). Yes, it's okay if they are tired too, or if they can't help you, but if they're ignoring your texts, brushing you off, telling you to get over it, or just "uh huh"ing to everything you're saying about how awful the roller coaster was, chances are, they will not be there for you when the real, huge downhill comes up in a future ride, or if the roller coaster stops mid-ride, while you're upside down in the loop and needing help.

As you can see, I've been trying to see the positive side to things lately. Rug, you always manage to find the positives to things and help me discover ways to fix things, or at least have me dull the sting with some vegan ice cream. Your positivity and love inspired this post and list 100%. I hope that this list reminds you to keep doing you when you go through those roller coasters. I'll always be there to help you get through them, too (we can be those two crazies in the first cart, screaming their heads off and annoying the people in the back).

Much love,

Fig

bottom of page