top of page

Believe in Yourself.


Hey, Rug.

I know from your previous blog post that you've decided what you want to do (kind of).

And I know that sometimes, you may be led to doubt yourself.

And I also know that you know people who say it isn't a practical career path.

Well, as much as I hate to prove my best friend wrong, I'm going to tell you that you're wrong. At least, you are about the last statement.

I just want to tell you that I get it. I completely get it. You're not alone. I've been feeling that way ever since I was 10 and realized that I wanted to make videos and take pictures and scribble midnight stories on paper instead of sticking needles into animals at a veterinary office (nothin' wrong with it, but I realized that it just isn't me).

But more importantly, I want to tell you that you need to believe in yourself.

I'm still young. I can't even say I have my foot in the industry's door, but from what I've seen, it's rough.

I'm sure you already know that, though.

I'm not trying to discourage or scare you- in fact, I'm telling you this because I want you to do it.

I want you to ignore what your head is telling you and do what that little voice in your heart is telling you to do, because that is what will motivate you to wake up each morning for the rest of your life.

I'm telling you this because in order for that to happen, you need to believe in yourself more than anyone else in the world.

You need to ignore those people telling you that you're wrong, that you won't have a stable income, that it's too hard.

Why? They're wrong.

So many people have told me that it's too hard, that it's not stable, that there's a very slim chance to "make it".

Perhaps I'm stubborn, or naive, but I refuse to turn around now.

Why? I don't think they understand.

They don't understand that we're not doing this because of the money or for fame, but because we love it.

Because we breathe, eat, and live our art, because we can feel every ounce of our bodies rushing with the blood of it.

Because we know that if we choose a more "practical" career now, we'll regret it for the rest of our lives.

I can almost hear their unsaid words, "you'll care once you're without a job or money".

If you don't believe in yourself, you've already given up on that dream.

There are so many people that don't believe in this career; don't be one of them.

There are so many people who will tell you "it's too hard",

There are so many people who will tell you "it's not a practical job",

There are so many people who will tell you "very little people succeed in this field".

But when they say these things, they fail to keep one thing in mind.

The arts is a practical career path, for those who succeed,

and success doesn't always mean money or stability.

Fig

bottom of page