top of page

The Perfect Reunion


Dearest Rug,

I know it has been much too long since I've last written you. But I got some inspiration when I read through your blog today.

Whenever I have a bad day or miss you guys, I read through your blog posts. I always giggle or have this stupid smile on my face for the entire time I'm reading. You always make me feel like I'm there with you, like I'm worth taking the time to write letters to, like we rewinded five months to the days when everything was so normal. I like that you write with such enthusiasm, and that you give me a sense of normality to this whole crazy situation. Though it's been five months already, I still wake up confused sometimes, and reading your blog posts or physical mailed letters helps me adjust and deal with it, not just pretend it never happened.

Anyways... The post that inspired me to write this was your list of things we must do together. I started two of them on my blog too (that's how excited I am!). But I love yours so much, because the preamble makes me feel so happy and excited inside; like, hey, we are actually doing this! It's actually going to happen! We are staying in touch, we are still best friends, and we are planning our next adventures.

I cannot stop replaying this video of us in my head- my perfect interpretation of what it will be like seeing you guys for the first time in more than a year. I feel this little rush of adrenaline whenever I think about practically running off the plane (move aside, marathon runners), dashing through that weird track thingie you get on to carry you through the airport, grabbing my bag off the carousel, and frantically searching for my friends as if I'm looking for my long-lost family members in a dramatic Korean drama scene. Your side of the story, the one of you guys waiting and searching, I'll let you formulate. ;) We'll hug, and laugh, and cry, and not know what to say or what to do...

But then again, we are anything but normal. It probably will not go Korean-Drama-Perfect, and as usual, I may run into some issues (ie. imagine a frantic Soo accidentally grabbing someone else's suitcase, "I'm so sorry! It looks just like mine!!"). But I know that whatever happens, in our world, it'll be our own little kind of perfection.

Love,

Fig

bottom of page