top of page

International Yoga Day

Dearest Rug,

As you may know, today is International Yoga Day (insert fireworks)!! I know that you're out of state visiting family right now, but I just wanted to say hello and reflect on what today means to us.

I cannot believe that just a year ago (?), we were standing in your living room in pajamas, and I was standing inbetween my two best friends for their first yoga "class". I remember propping my phone up on the TV table, pressing play on the instructional video, and telling you guys all about how much I had been loving yoga and this one particular yoga YouTuber. I remember how reluctant our other friend was to join in, but most of all, I remember how you embraced the idea and kept such an open mind to everything that had happened that day and the night before (sleep talking, oil cleansing, me explaining my new "crunchy" lifestyle, hmm.. Ring a bell?). And that's where it began.

Here we are, a year later. You're way further into your yoga-career than I am now! I still am that "crunchy", vegan, yoga-loving, but busy girl who doesn't have time to go into a studio, so she still practices from home. And you! You have gotten so far in your yoga path; now you may even start helping teach it! I am so proud and happy for you.

Yoga has been another one of those "bonding" things we share- another thing we have in common and enjoy doing together. Though it may not seem like it, there are quite a few significant memories of us involving yoga. The Yoga Challenge during my last weekend in America, the yoga class we took together at your old studio, that first day when you happily tried your hand at oil cleansing and yoga with me, the yogi jokes, the handmade cards with yoga drawings, the "bunny yoga sequences" booklet, picking out my yoga mat, the discovery of aerial yoga, and the promises to practice yoga together in a bunch of cool places (in the bamboo forest in Korea, aerial yoga in Portland).

I cannot wait until we reunite, and we can practice yoga together. I'm sure that by then, we will have improved (a lot) since the first time we "officially" practiced together in your living room. It's always been a wish of mine to practice yoga with you in cool, remote places, and hopefully one day, we will make that happen. In the meantime, enjoy this lovely screenshot from our Yoga Challenge:

Yay! I mean- wait a minute...

I actually meant this one! :D (OMG. Look at my awkwardly crooked fingers!) Wow. How graceful.

Brings back some great memories, huh?

I hope you are having a ton of fun at your extended family's house, and that you can get away from everyone to have a bit of you time. I know how overwhelming it can be to be surrounded by a ton of family members (you love 'em, but so many of 'em at once can get a little crazy...). Nothing a little yoga can't fix though, right? ;)

I can't wait to hear all about your adventures when you get home.

Namaste,

Fig

bottom of page